© 2020–2024 1st Money UK Holdings Ltd. All rights reserved.
 

Cookies help us run our services and make them more tasty. We've posted the full recipe on our Privacy Notice.

Whoa! Wait a minute ... how do I change my cookie settings?

Tap "Got it" if you're OK with cookies...

Got it
 

How do I restrict some people to only clock-in through a TimeSpot?

Restricting to TimeSpot clock-ins3:38

"How do I restrict some people to only clock-in through a TimeSpot?"

Once you've set up a wall-mounted TimeSpot, you may prefer that some of your people only do their clock-ins through the TimeSpot. Which means restricting them from otherwise clocking-in through 1st Money.

To restrict some people to only clocking-in through a TimeSpot:

  1. First, select the location that'll have the TimeSpot, on: "Menu", then "Locations"
  2. When you scroll down to the "People" heading, you'll see that "Restrict to TimeSpot clock-ins only" is currently disabled.
  3. That's because there's no TimeSpots currently connected.
  4. To learn more about adding a TimeSpot, watch the video on: TimeSpot setup
  5. Next, add a TimeSpot.
  6. Then give it a name.
  7. Then make a note of the: "TimeSpot ID"
  8. And set the password to what you prefer.
  9. Then tap: Save
  10. And open it again, and install the free iOS or Android app onto any tablet or phone by scanning one of the barcodes.
  11. Once you've installed and connected TimeSpot on any tablet or phone, right-click anywhere on the page then tap: Reload
  12. You'll now see a green dot showing that your newly created TimeSpot is connected.
  13. And now that it's connected, "Restrict to TimeSpot clock-ins only" is also automatically turned on.
  14. With "Restrict to TimeSpot clock-ins only" turned on, all the people in the location now see a change to their clock-ins.
  15. When the people in the location now tap their "Work-time menu" (top-right) in 1st Money, their "Start", and other similar buttons are now all disabled.
  16. And finally, from now on, the people in the location can only clock-in and clock-out through a TimeSpot.

Keep in mind that:

  • At any time, you can always turn off: "Restrict to TimeSpot clock-ins only"
  • As soon as you turn it off, all the people in the location can instantly clock-in again through their "Work-time menu" (top-right) in 1st Money.
  • Alternatively, you may want to allow selected people to still clock-in through 1st Money, and not be restricted to only clocking-in through a TimeSpot.
  • If that's what you want, selectively move those people out to another location.

You may notice:

  • That the advantage of restricting your people to only clocking-in through a TimeSpot, is that it proves their physical presence at their clock-in time.
  • When it comes to accurately recording clock-ins and clock-outs for paid hours in the workplace, it's recommended to turn on: "Restrict to TimeSpot clock-ins only"

For advanced usage:

  • Because multiple locations can be connected to a single TimeSpot device, you can group some people in one location, with the restriction turned on. And you can group others in a second location with the restriction turned off.

To learn more:

  • About setting which people can clock-in through a TimeSpot, watch the video on: Adding people to TimeSpot
  • To learn about connecting multiple locations to a single TimeSpot device, watch the video on: Multiple TimeSpots

And that's it! That's everything you need to know about restricting some people to only clock-in through a TimeSpot!

Updated: Wed, May 29, 2024.

© 2020–2024 1st Money UK Holdings Ltd. All rights reserved.
www.1st.money/help/TimeSpot/How_do_I_restrict_some_people_to_only_clock-in_through_a_TimeSpot